BCCI selection committee – Chetan Sharma, SS Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee, S Sharath


Chetan Sharma has been re-appointed as the chairman of the BCCI’s national men’s senior selection committee. Chetan, who held the same position in the previous selection committee that was sacked in November last year, will have Shiv Sunder Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee and S Sharath as colleagues in the new panel.
The five men were selected by the BCCI’s Cricket Advisory Committee consisting of Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Naik and Jatin Paranjpe after “around 600 applications” were received in response to a BCCI advertisement for the posts. The need to appoint a new committee emerged after the BCCI dropped the earlier panel on November 18 last year – the same day the advertisement was published on the BCCI website – following India’s exit in the semi-finals of the Men’s T20 World Cup. Cup immediately after.

Although removed from the panel, he continued to select the India men’s national teams for the limited overs series in New Zealand, the ODI and Test tour of Bangladesh and then the ongoing limited overs series against Sri Lanka at home. New Committee. It is understood that the Chetan-led panel has been given an extension till the end of 2022 and has been tasked with picking national teams as well as overseeing Ranji Trophy matches till the end of the year.

Indications were that Chetan Sharma would stay

Then, last week, in perhaps a bigger sign that Chetan may not be replaced – even if others were – he joined head coach Rahul Dravid, Rohit in a BCCI review meeting of India’s roadmap for the 2023 ODI World Cup. were. Sharma, the all-format captain, and VVS Laxman, head of the National Cricket Academy, as well as top BCCI functionaries.

The term of the Selection Panel is usually four years, but they are up for renewal every year.

Meanwhile, the five-member panel is now in place on the basis of the CAC that was held on January 1 to interview the applicants, prepare a shortlist of candidates and send its recommendations to the BCCI.

The latest panel has a combined experience of 48 Test matches and 95 ODIs. Both Chetan and Das have played 23 Tests, while Ankola and Banerjee have played one Test each. Chetan also played 65 ODIs; Ankola, Banerjee and Das made 20, six and four appearances respectively. Sharath, a domestic great who played 139 first-class matches and scored 8700 runs across formats at an average of 51.17, never played for India.

However, Sharath was till recently the chairman of the junior men’s selection committee, and it is a promotion of sorts for him after his panel picked the Indian squad that went on to win the Under-19 World Cup in February last year.

Former fast bowler Ankola was also a selector, heading the Mumbai selection committee until the new appointment, while Das and Banerjee were involved in coaching. Das is the only member of the selection panel with any T20 playing experience, having played three matches in October 2011.


Source link