Chetan Sharma retained as chairman of selectors

Just two months after the BCCI disbanded its entire panel following India’s semi-final exit from the T20 World Cup, Chetan Sharma was on Saturday re-appointed as the chairman of the senior selection committee.

Chetan’s new team, however, will have completely new faces and junior chairman of selectors South Zone S Sharath has been promoted. Others in the panel include former East Zone seamer Subroto Banerjee, West Zone’s Salil Ankola and Central Zone’s Test opener Shiv Sunder Das.

Das qualified from the middle for being a former Vidarbha player after he finished playing for Odisha.

His colleague, Harvinder Singh, also reapplied, but was not considered after the interview as he was believed to be not good enough.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a release, “The Board received around 600 applications after the advertisement was issued for the five posts on its official website on 18th November 2022.”

He added, “Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 persons for personal interview. On the basis of the interview, the committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee.”

The text of this story is published from a wire agency feed without any modification.

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download Mint News app to get daily market updates and live business news.

more less

Source link