David Warner hints at retirement, 2023 likely to be his last year in international cricket


,[This will] Most likely the last year of my international career,” Warner was quoted as saying by Sky Sports.

“I’ve set my sights on 2024 [T20] The World Cup too, so getting over in the US, it would be nice to top it with a win there, pending selection,” the opener said.

Warner has been an exceptional servant to Australian cricket across all formats since 2009.

Warner has so far scored 8,132 runs in 101 Tests at an average of 46.20. He has 25 hundreds and 34 half-centuries across formats, with a personal best score of 335*.

Warner has also featured in 141 ODIs for the Australian team, scoring 6,007 runs at an average of 45.16. He has 19 hundreds and 27 fifties in the format to his name, with a personal best score of 179.

Warner has also had a decorated T20I career as a batsman. He has scored 2,894 runs in 99 matches at an average of 32.88. He has one century and 24 fifties in this format, with a best score of 100.

He is also a part of the Australian team that captured the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup and 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.

He will be seen in action against India during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which begins on February 9.

Australia have named an 18-man squad for the Border-Gavaskar series in India, including 22-year-old Todd Murphy, while an update is awaited on whether Mitchell Starc and Cameron Green will be fit for the series.

Off-spinner Murphy has joined Ashton Agar and Mitchell Swepson as possible spin partners for Nathan Lyon after an impressive start to his first-class career. Murphy and the rest of the spin group were preferred over Adam Zampa.

Uncapped paceman Lance Morris, who was part of Australia’s red-ball squad in the home series, retained his place and has a chance to make his debut in the first Test in Nagpur as Mitchell Starc is currently nursing a tendon in his left side. taking care of the damage. Middle Finger will not join the team until after the first Test.

Batsmen Peter Handscomb and Matt Renshaw will support the top six in the touring team, with Marcus Harris missing a member of Australia’s selection for the home summer.

All-rounder Cameron Green is also racing against time to be fit but made it into the opening Test despite fracturing his right index finger during the Boxing Day Test against South Africa.

India’s Australia tour will begin on February 9 in Nagpur. There will be a total of 7 matches on the tour – 4 Tests and 3 ODIs. The tour will begin with a four-match Test series, with the first match starting on February 9 at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur. Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium), Dharamsala (HPCA Stadium) and Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium) will host the remaining three Test matches of the four-match series.

The home series will conclude with a three-match ODI series, with Mumbai, Vizag and Chennai playing hosts. Mumbai will host the first match of the series on March 17, while the second and third will be held in Vizag and Chennai on January 19 and 22 respectively.

Australia Test squad for India tour: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson and David Warner.

The text of this story is published from a wire agency feed without any modification.

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download Mint News app to get daily market updates and live business news.

more less


Source link