India beat Sri Lanka by 67 runs in first ODI to take 1-0 lead in three-match series

With the help of Virat Kohli’s brilliant century, India defeated Sri Lanka by 67 runs in the first One Day International (ODI) on Tuesday and is now leading 1-0 in the series. In response to the huge target of 373 given by India, the Sri Lankan team could only reach 308 runs losing 8 wickets in 50 overs.

India’s star batsman Virat Kohli completed his 73rd international century and 45th ODI century. This player is very close to Sachin Tendulkar’s highest century in ODI record. Kohli thrashed the Sri Lankan bowlers fiercely and played a stormy innings of 113 off 87 balls.

Captain Rohit Sharma also gave a good start to the team and played a brilliant inning of 83 runs in 67 balls. He got full support from young opener Shubman Gill, who scored 70 off 60 balls. The opening partnership of the Indian team was a colossal 143 runs.

The Sri Lankan team fought valiantly against the high scores and captain Dasun Shanaka remained unbeaten on 108 while opener Pathum Nisaka also played a fine knock of 72, but the overall performance of the team was not enough to win the big game.

Excellent Indian bowling took two early wickets and Sri Lanka were 23 for 2 and the next wicket soon followed for 64 runs.

Umran Malik took 3 wickets with the help of his lightning-fast deliveries, which overcame several big-ticket Sri Lankan players.

Final Score: India 373/7

Batting Rohit Sharma 83, Shubman Gill 70, Virat Kohli 113, Shreyas Iyer 28, KL Rahul 39, Hardik Pandya 14, Akshar Patel 9, Mohammed Shami 4, Mohammed Siraj 7.

bowling: Kasun Rajitha 10-0-88-3, Dilshan Madushanka 6-0-43-1, Wanindu Hasaranga 10-0-67-0, Chamika Karunaratne 8-0-54-1, Dunith Vellaj 8-0-65-0 , Dasun Shanaka 3-0-22-1, Dhananjay de Silva 5-0-33-1.

Sri Lanka: 308/8

battingPathum Nissanka 72, Avishka Fernando 5, Kushal Mendis 0, Charith Asalanka 23, Dhananjay de Silva 47, Dasun Shanaka 108, Wanindu Hasaranga 16, Dunith Vellej 0, Chamak Karunaratne 14, Kasun Rajitha 9.

bowlingMohammed Shami 9-0-67-1, Mohammed Siraj 7-1-30-2, Hardik Pandya 6-0-33-1, Umran Malik 8-0-57-3, Yuzvendra Chahal 10-0-58-1 Akshar Patel 10-0-58-0.

With inputs from PTI

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download Mint News app to get daily market updates and live business news.

more less

Source link