Jasprit Bumrah to play in ODI series against Sri Lanka: BCCI secretary Jay Shah

The Indian cricket team will heave a sigh of relief as their fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has returned to the team after injury and will play the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Indian Cricket Council (BCCI) Secretary Jay Shah informed on Tuesday that Indian fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been included in the Indian team for the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

The Sri Lankan team is on a tour of India from January 3 to January 15 and has to play three T20Is and three ODIs against India. Both the teams will face each other in the first T20 on Tuesday and in the absence of Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya is leading the team.

The 28-year-old Jasprit Bumrah has been a force in the Indian bowling line-up. The team suffered a major setback when Bumrah was ruled out of the Indian team during the Asia Cup 2022 and later the T20 World Cup 2022 due to a back injury.

“Bumrah was out of cricketing action since September 2022 and was also ruled out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup due to a back injury. The fast bowler has undergone rehabilitation and has been declared fit by the National Cricket Academy (NCA) He will be joining the Team India ODI squad very soon, the BCCI said in a statement.

India will play their first T20 against Sri Lanka on 3 January at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The second T20 will be played in Pune on January 5 and the third in Rajkot on January 7.

Guwahati, Kolkata and Trivandrum have been chosen as the venues for the ODIs and both the teams will face each other on January 10, 12 and 15.

Team for T20 series,

Indian squadHardik Pandya (C), Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar, Rahul Tripathi, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Akshar Patel, Shivam Mavi and Arshdeep Singh.

Sri Lankan team– Dasun Shanaka (C), Wanindu Hasaranga (VC), Charit Aslanka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Mahesh Thikshan, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajita, Avishka Fernando, Sadira Samarawickrama, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara, Dunith Vellalej, Pramod Madushan.

With inputs from ANI

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download Mint News app to get daily market updates and live business news.

more less

Source link