Recent Match Report – India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2022/23


the toss Sri Lanka chose to bowl vs India

India handed debuts to Shubman Gill and Shivam Mavi, both expected to make the task more difficult after Sri Lanka won the toss and put the hosts in. This means setting an above-par target and then defending in the dew. Hardik Pandya said he would have batted anyway as India wanted to challenge itself in bilateral games.

Mavi came in place of Arshdeep Singh, who said that Pandya was “not available” and was unwell. In the absence of KL Rahul and Virat Kohli, who were rested without asking for a break, Gill and Ishan Kishan were named at the top. There was only one anchor Gill in the lower middle order with Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel and Harshal Patel in the top five.

Dasun Shanaka, who didn’t hesitate to follow up, had no surprises to announce. Dilshan Madushanka overtook Lahiru Kumara to reach the last position. The Wankhede Stadium isn’t a great venue for spinners, but Sri Lanka fielded two of its best players: Wanindu Hasaranga and Mahesh Thikshana.

India 1 Ishan Kishan, 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Suryakumar Yadav, 4 Sanju Samson (wk), 5 Hardik Pandya (c), 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Harshal Patel, 9 Shivam Mavi, 10 Umran Malik, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri LankaSquads: 1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Kusal Mendis (wk), 3 Dhananjay de Silva, 4 Charit Aslanka, 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (c), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Kasun Rajitha, 10 Mahesh Thikshana, 11 Dilshan madushanka


Source link