Recent Match Report – South Africa vs Australia 1st Test 2022/23


Australia to select bowl Woe South Africa

On the greenest pitch at the Gabba that has seen both Ricky Ponting and Justin Langer, Pat Cummins asked South Africa to bat first against their four-seam attack. Cummins returned to the Test XI after straining a quadriceps in the second match against the West Indies and will lead a pack that lacks Josh Hazlewood but includes Scott Boland, Mitchell Starc and Cameron Green.
A stern test, or as captain Dean Elgar put it, a “good challenge” awaits a South African line-up who have collectively scored only two centuries in this World Test Championship cycle, the most competitive teams in the world. are the least.
Both Centurions: Serel Ervi and Kyle Vereyn are in the line-up, which sees returns for Rassie van der Dussen and Temba Bavuma from respective injuries. Van der Dussen broke his left index finger in England, while Bavuma had an elbow problem and has not played any competitive red-ball cricket since the Bangladesh Test in April.
The most interesting choice is the decision to put Khaya Zondo at No.5. Zondo opened the batting for the first time in Tests in England and was preferred over Heinrich Klaasen, who is third on this season’s domestic four-day run charts, and Theunis de Bruyne. Apart from Joe Elgar and Bavuma, he is the only batsman with experience in Australia.
Despite the idea of ​​including one of them as the seventh batsman, South Africa stuck with six specialist batsmen, a bowling all-rounder in Marco Jansen at No. 7, three specialist fast bowlers and a spinner. Australia’s line-up is unchanged with the batsmen doing duty against the West Indies.

A sell-out crowd is expected for the opening day of the series, which is a contest between the two top-ranked teams on the WTC points table.

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Usman Khawaja, 3 Marnus Labuschagne, 4 Steven Smith, 5 Travis Head, 6 Cameron Green, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Pat Cummins (c), 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Scott Boland

South Africa: 1 Dean Elgar (c), 2 Sarel Ervy, 3 Rassie van der Dussen, 4 Temba Bavuma, 5 Khaya Jondo, 6 Kyle Verreynne (wk), 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Keshav Maharaj, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Lungi ngidi


Source link