Sisanda Magala returns to South Africa’s ODI squad for England series


Pacer Sisanda Magala has returned to South Africa’s ODI squad after a year out when he was named in the 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match series against England at home in January.
There was no room in the squad for 19-year-old Dewald Brewis, who is currently third in the SA20 run-scorers’ list. Earlier this week, Enoch Nkwe, South Africa’s director of cricket, said Brewis would likely enjoy a David-Warner-like introduction to international cricket by moving up from the T20I squad, and selection coordinator Victor Mpitsang confirmed that he would be playing against Will be considered for the series. West Indies in March
At the time of the squad announcement, Brewis and Magala were in action in the SA20 game, with the latter accounting for six of the former’s wickets. Magala is the joint third highest wicket taker in SA20 and he was leading wicket taker In this season’s domestic one day cup. Despite his form, Magala was left out for most of last year, as he Fought to pass CSA’s two kilometer time trial He has now scored 8:30 in the fitness test and is therefore eligible for selection.

Mpitsang said, “Sisanda has been performing well over the years. We have had some fitness issues with him in the past and that was the reason why he was kept out.” “His consistency is the reason he was chosen.”

The team will be coached by Shukri Konrad, who was named as South Africa’s Test coach on Monday, will take charge of the ODI side in this series while new white-ball coach Rob Walter continues his commitments with the Central Stags in New Zealand. Will fulfill , Walter would remain in consultation with Conrad throughout. Malibongwe Maketa, the interim coach who took South Africa’s Test team to Australia, has not been retained.

Temba Bavuma has retained his place as captain, although it is understood leadership in red- and white-ball cricket will be up for discussion under the new coaching set-up. Bavuma is not part of the SA20 side and had a disappointing performance as T20I captain in the World Cup in Australia but is understood to have enjoyed the break and is ready for action. “He is in good shape. He has a good record in the ODI format. We are very happy with where he is at the moment,” Mpitsang said.

The rest of the squad includes familiar names like Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, SA20 leading run-scorer Heinrich Klaasen and David Miller, along with a first-choice bowling attack comprising Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Keshav Maharaj, Tabrez Is. Shamsi and all-rounders Marco Jansen and Wayne Parnell. But a notable absentee is domestic One Day Cup leading-run-scorer Ryan Rickelton.

Rickelton missed the Test tour of Australia as he required ankle surgery. Rickelton has opted to delay going under the knife to play this summer, but could not travel for the Australia series due to the risk of worsening the injury and the travel time required to secure a replacement. Mpitsang confirmed he is available for selection in home internationals and could be in contention when South Africa play the West Indies in February–March.

“Ryan has done really well last summer,” Mpitsang said. “It is about where he fits in at the moment. He is an opening batsman. He has good numbers. In the squad of 16, we could not include him. clarified that the risk is not as high when we travel abroad.”

The series is the final World Cup Super League fixture for South Africa and is crucial to their chances of qualifying for the 2023 World Cup. South Africa are out of the automatic qualification zone and are placed 11th on the points table. They will need to win at least three of their remaining five matches (three vs England, two vs Netherlands) if they are to get past Sri Lanka and the West Indies and avoid a qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe in June.

The three-match series will be played over six days, with the first match starting on January 27 in Bloemfontein.

All the squads are included in the SA20s except Bavuma, who takes a break for the white-ball series from 25 January to 2 February.

south africa teamSquad: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Jaaneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.


Source link