Uncapped Henry Shipley in New Zealand squad for ODI tours of Pakistan, India


Canterbury all-rounder Henry Shipley has earned his maiden call-up to the New Zealand squad for the upcoming ODI tours of Pakistan and India. Kane Williamson will lead the team in Pakistan but will not be a part of the upcoming ODI series in India.
Head coach Gary Stead, bowling coach Shane Jurgensen and newly appointed Test captain Tim Southee will return home after touring Pakistan with Williamson in February 2023 to prepare for the home Test series against England.
Tom Latham and current batting coach Luke Ronchi will lead the ODI team in India in the absence of Williamson and Stead. Ronchi will also serve as the head coach for the T20I series in India and will be assisted by former New Zealand women’s coach Bob Carter and former New Zealand spinner Paul Wiseman, who were recently part of the new team’s coaching group. The Zeeland A side that toured India earlier this year.
Pacer Kyle Jamieson, however, is unavailable for selection as he works his way back from a back injury. Jamieson has not played for New Zealand since the Nottingham Test in June earlier this year.

Batting all-rounder Mark Chapman and seamer Jacob Duffy have been included in the squad for the tour of India only as New Zealand continue to manage the workload of their players and staff.

Leg-spinners Ish Sodhi and Henry Nicholls, who were dropped from the squad for the home ODI series against India, have both been recalled for the ODI tours of Pakistan and India. Sodhi will work with Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell and Glenn Phillips in the spin attack.

The 26-year-old Shipley is the only new face in the team. The fast bowling all-rounder can hit the deck with the ball and can hit boundaries with the bat in the lower order. His massive frame (1.96m) could potentially tear New Zealand’s attack apart in the subcontinent.

At home in November, Shipley took career-best List A figures of 6 for 40, including a hat-trick in the Ford Trophy opener for Canterbury against Wellington. It was the first hat-trick for Canterbury and only the fourth overall in the tournament’s 52 years.
Shipley continues his strong form in the Ford Trophy and is currently on top second highest wicket taker In the tournament, with 12 strikes in five matches at an economy rate of 4.20. Earlier in last season’s 20-over super smash, he top wicket takerWith 18 scalps in 11 games at an economy rate of 7.25 in Canterbury’s final, where they lost to Northern Districts.

New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said, “Henry is an exciting talent we’ve had our eye on for some time.” “He has taken his game to another level over the last 12 months, and we are delighted to see his progress demonstrating how valuable genuine all-rounders are in any cricket team.

“It is encouraging that players are putting their hands up in our domestic competitions and their performances are being rewarded with selection for the national team.”

After securing the Ford Trophy hat-trick, Shipley attributed his recent success to his greater confidence. He had said, “Maybe a little bit of confidence in the last few years. Been working a lot on a few different things, especially my bowling.” “Trying to be a bit more effective and I anticipate and take wickets. And with the bat – I’ve always had the self-belief, but it’s just biding my time and earning the right to get into that all-rounder’s position.” Used to be.”

The three-match ODI series in Pakistan will begin on January 10 and run till January 14. India’s tour will begin four days later with the first ODI in Hyderabad and will go on till February 1. The squad for the three-match T20I series will be named in January after the opening round of the Super Smash.

shaft: Kane Williamson (Captain – Pakistan ODIs only), Tom Latham (Captain – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only).


Source link