WIPL 2023 – Inaugural Women’s IPL likely to be played from March 3 to 26


IPL 2023 is likely to start from April 1, while the inaugural season of the Women’s IPL is likely to be played from March 3 to 26, with both the tournaments being played in India. While the BCCI is yet to formalize the dates, it has earmarked a window for the WIPL with the tournament starting a week after the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup final, which is scheduled to be played in Cape Town on February 26.

As far as the IPL is concerned, ESPNcricinfo has learned that the BCCI is working on the availability of overseas players before finalizing the final date for the 10-team tournament, which will revert to a home-and-away format , which was postponed due to exigencies. by the COVID-19 pandemic. There is a possibility that the BCCI would like to finish the IPL by the end of May as England have to play the only Test against Ireland at Lord’s from June 1 to June 4. A few days later, the Oval would host another. The ICC World Test Championship final – which India have a chance to contest – while the Ashes begin on June 16.

The BCCI on Friday announced the media-rights tender for the first five seasons of WIPL from 2023 to 2027. While the last date for taking tender is December 31, 2022, it is learned that the bids will be opened around January 8. BCCI has decided to go for closed-bid process instead of e-auction. Further details will emerge once the tender documents are taken up by the bidders, but it is learned that the BCCI has not fixed any base price for each of the three categories for which the rights will be sold: television, digital and both. Combination.

In October this year, the BCCI shared a plan for WIPL with its members – the state associations – which was approved at the annual general meeting of the board.

According to the plan, five franchise teams playing a total of 22 matches in the league will clash with each other. Each squad may consist of a maximum of 18 players with a maximum of six overseas players, and each playing XI may include up to five overseas players (four from full member nations and one from an associate nation).

In the league stage of the WIPL, each team will play the other twice (20 matches in total), and the team topping the table will advance directly to the finals. The second and third placed teams in the league will play eliminators to determine the other finalists.

As per the BCCI’s deadline, the next step would be to invite bids for the five franchises. Unlike the men’s IPL, where franchises bid for teams in a particular city, the BCCI had drafted two preliminary plans for the WIPL. The first was to sell teams in six territories spread across the country. A set of cities have been shortlisted in each zone and include: Dharamsala/Jammu (North Zone), Pune/Rajkot (West), Indore/Nagpur/Raipur (Central), Ranchi/Cuttack (East), Kochi/ Visakhapatnam (South) and Guwahati (North-East).

The second plan involves teams being sold, but without a solid home base, with matches played at six shortlisted IPL venues: Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai.

The final stage of the process involves the combination of squads and the BCCI is yet to decide whether it will be done through auction or draft. Player availability will continue to be a concern considering the WIPL clashes with the inaugural season of the Women’s Pakistan Super League (WPSL). While the PCB is yet to release the final plans for the tournament, March 18 has been set as the date for the WPSL final.


Source link